HAIKU FOR CATS

Our friend, ‘kaika, who lives in California, sent us  these clever little poems. We could not find out who wrote them so we are going to share them with you since they are being quoted at various websites, author unknown. We will, of course, take them down if asked to by the author. 

CAT HAIKU

The food in my bowl
Is old, and more to the point
Contains no tuna.

So you want to play.
Will I claw at dancing string
Your ankle’s closer.

There’s no dignity
In being sick – which is why
I don’t tell you where.

Seeking solitude
I am locked in the closet.
For once I need you.

Tiny can dumped in
Plastic bowl. Presentation
One star; service none.

Am I in your way?
You seem to have it backwards
This pillow’s taken.

Your mouth is moving
Up and down emitting noise.
I’ve lost interest.

The dog wags his tail
Seeking approval. See mine?
Different message.

My brain walnut-sized.
Yours largest among primates.
Yet, who leaves for work?

Cats can’t steal the breath
Of children but if my tail’s
Pulled again, I’ll learn.

I don’t mind being
Teased any more than you mind
A skin graft or two.

Toy mice dancing yarn
Meowing sounds I’m convinced
You’re an idiot.

 

We have written one, too:

why keep special food

just for special occasions

why not ev’ry day.

 

And now we’re sending our minion to the purveyor of pussy fare to rectify the matter!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.flippyscatpage.com/cathaiku.html

6 thoughts on “HAIKU FOR CATS

  1. Wonderful haiku, have you given any thought to composing your own, Geiger? I have a feeling you’d be good at it. Also a video of you playing the piano wouldn’t go amiss. Just saying…

Leave a Reply

